How to Make a Protein Shake Without Protein Powder

I’m not a fan of protein powder supplements, but I do love a good protein shake. So, how do I get a shake with lots a protein and none of the added artificial ingredients normally found in protein supplements? It’s actually quite simple, and the ingredient is something that your grandmother would recognize.

Before I get to the recipe, let me talk a little bit about why I’m not a fan of protein powders. Mainly it’s because the ingredients list is as long as my arm including chemicals and artificial flavors to hide those chemicals,

The protein ingredient I use in my shakes has one simple ingredient… gelatin. That’s right, the same gelatin your grandmother used to use to make jello, the same gelatin your mother used to drink to make her hair and nails strong, and the same gelatin found in joint care supplements.

Protein Shake Recipe

1 cup blueberries

1 banana

1 cup coconut water

4 tablespoons  Gelatin

7 ice cubes

Blend all ingredients in a blender until smooth and frosty. If you want to know how I get a nice smooth protein shake, here’s my secret:

I put my ice cubes in first and get them all chopped up

Then I add my fruit and blend until smooth

Next, I add my coconut water and gelatin and blend until everything is combined and frothy.

Leave a Reply

